Like a few other million (billion?) users of the iPhone, I have come to rely on it for a great many things. One of the things I find I have improved from pre iPhone, is keeping up with news. I have worked for three different newspapers in my life and have subscribed to more than a few different magazines as well. Today however, the digital convenience of being able to read thousands of news sources from the palm of my hand is simply amazing.

I do not however like having to launch an app for this news source, then a another for that source, than another for something else. It’s tedious and takes up way too much hard drive space to have all those apps installed. I currently have one app, I launch and it provides me with news posts and article links from twenty different sources and at any time I can add or take away from that number as I need. The app is NetNewsWire (iOS App Store link) and it’s just one of many iOS apps that take advantage of a fairly old bit of technology called RSS, which stands for Really Simple Syndication. If you are also a podcast listener, RSS is the backbone technology behind that as well.

This web technology has been around since the late 1990’s but didnt really get widespread adoption till aroud 2005. Wikipedia actually has a very well written summary you can check out here RSS. A great feature of a dedicated RSS feed reader, in addition to it’s customization, is the ability to read articles without all of the web fluff of ads, popups and auto playing distractions. The artices are formatted for easy reading and the font can be modified and sized to your liking. The sources can vary widely from blogs like this one, to mainstream news organizations like NPR, or the Associated Press.

A have tried a few other feed reader apps, check these out in addtion to NetNewsWire and see if any might work for you. Pocket, Inoreader, and Reeder.

Happy reading!